Mark Evans – AC/DC, Rose Tattoo (2003)

Mark is a friend of our Managing Director Leah Gallin’s father. Mark grew up in Prahran right around the corner from The SoundLab and Leah’s father used to hang out with AC/DC who used to live in Lewisham St in Prahran. They used to play at the Station Hotel in Greville St and that’s where Mark met the rest of the band. Leah’s father sold Mark the Gibson Ripper Bass he played on the video clip ‘It’s a Long Way to the Top’ that Countdown did on the back of the truck with the Bagpipers going down Swanston St in Melbourne. Also pictured is a signed copy of the ‘Dirty Deeds’ book Mark wrote.

Evans is an Australian musician, currently bass guitarist for the Australian rock band Rose Tattoo, and also a member of hard rock band AC/DC from March 1975 to June 1977. His playing featured on their albums T.N.T, High Voltage, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, Let There Be Rock and ’74 Jailbreak. Evans has played for numerous other groups, sometimes on lead guitar, including Finch (a.k.a. Contraband), Cheetah, Swanee, Heaven and The Party Boys. Evans’ autobiography, Dirty Deeds: My Life Inside/Outside of AC/DC was released in December 2011.

Evans was born and raised in Melbourne, Australia. He was originally a guitarist and early in 1975 he was introduced to hard rockers AC/DC at the Station Hotel, Prahran, Melbourne, by his friend and the band’s roadie, Steve McGrath. AC/DC had formed in 1973 and had released a debut album, High Voltage, earlier that year. At the time, Malcolm Young was playing bass guitar in a four-piece line up alongside his brother Angus Young on lead guitar, Phil Rudd on drums and Bon Scott on vocals. Evans had been working as a clerk in the pay section of the Postmaster-General’s Department when he auditioned for AC/DC and joined in March on bass guitar, allowing Malcolm to switch back to rhythm guitar.

Rose Tattoo are an Australian rock and roll band, now led by Angry Anderson, which formed in Sydney in 1976. Their sound is hard rock mixed with blues rock influences, with songs including “Bad Boy for Love”, “Rock ‘n’ Roll Outlaw”, “Nice Boys”, “We Can’t Be Beaten” and “Scarred for Life”. Their first four albums were produced by Harry Vanda and George Young who also worked with AC/DC. They disbanded in 1987, subsequently reforming briefly in 1993 to support Guns N’ Roses on an Australian tour. They reassembled again from 1998 and have since released two more studio albums.

On 16 August 2006, they were inducted into the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Hall of Fame. Rose Tattoo celebrated their 35th anniversary in 2011. On 5 August 2017 a new line-up of Anderson, Dai Pritchard, Bob Spencer, Mark Evans and John “Watto” Watson was announced. In August 2018 a new drummer joined, Jackie Barnes, the son of Australian vocalist, Jimmy Barnes.