G-Flip – Lil’ Rockstar Crew (2017)

Here’s one of our favourite emerging artists, who’s been crew for The SoundLab’s Lil’ Rockstar Program for kids.

Georgia Flipo, also known as G Flip, is an Australian musician, singer, songwriter, producer and drummer from Melbourne, Australia. She released her debut studio album, About Us, on 30 August 2019.

In February 2018 she uploaded her debut single “About You” to Triple J Unearthed and that same day her track was premiered on Triple J. The song was officially released on 2 March 2018. Pitchfork named it “Best New Track” and the music video, filmed on her iPhone, was featured in YouTube’s New Music Playlist. Pining international interest in her project, Flipo was subsequently invited to play her first ever solo show at SXSW in Austin, Texas the following month. Flipo’s follow up track “Killing My Time” was released in May 2018.

In November 2018, Flipo was nominated for a J Award as Unearthed Artist of the Year and was the inaugural winner of the ARIA Emerging Artist Scholarship.

In July 2019, G Flip won Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year at the Australian Independent Record Labels Association (AIR) Awards. Her debut studio album was released on 30 August 2019.

Flipo worked with Ariel Rechtshaid (whose credits include tracks with HAIM, Adele and Madonna) on her track “I Am Not Afraid”. Rechtshaid noted to Rolling Stone that “G Flip is a phenomenal musician… She’s a strong songwriter and has a very authentic voice, and she is a badass producer.”

Check out this video of G-Flip as one of Lil’ Rockstar leaders: